888 4 GAY NEWS or 888-442-9639

Meet the new honorees selected for Veterans Wall of Honor at The Center

SAN DIEGO -- The San Diego LGBT Community Center will host the 2013 Benjamin F. Dillingham and Bridget Wilson Veterans Wall of Honor induction ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 7 at 5:30 pm.

The ceremony will honor 16 veterans who have been selected to be added to the wall, which was first unveiled in 2011. This year's honorees include:

Joseph Christopher Rocha, USN

April F. Heinze, USN

Stewart Bornhoft, USA

Kathleen A. Hansen, USN

Morgan M. Hurley, USN

Evelyn Lynn Thomas, USMC

Ben Gomez, USN

Shaun A. Flak, USMC

Will Rodriguez-Kennedy, USMC

Carlita “Lee” Durand, USAF

John Banvard, USAA

Gerard Nadeau, USAA

Autumn Violet Sandeen, USN

Jacque Atkinson, USMC

Stephen Peters, USMC

Kristin Beck, USN

The ceremony will include a singing of the national anthem by Patrick Hammond and a reception.

The Veterans Wall of Honor committee will also present the first Donna Johnson Equality and Valor Award to honor her memory and sacrifice for the United States and for equality.

The Center is located at 3909 Centre St. in Hillcrest.