Connect with us


Interfaith leaders stand by Chula Vista Library’s Drag Queen Storytime



Drag Queen Storytime happens in just under a week in Chula Vista and Interfaith leaders are offering their support to the City of Chula Vista, the Chula Vista Public Library, and Chula Vista Councilmember Stephen Padilla. 

They denounce the hate group “MassResistance” a group of anti-LGBTQ, anti-immigrant, and white supremacist activists who will actively protest the Chula Vista Public Library and are attempting to have the event canceled.

DevOUT, an interfaith coalition of San Diego Pride, and over 70 interfaith community leaders and faith groups throughout San Diego County including the First United Methodist Church of Chula Vista and Unitarian Universalists of the South Bay signed on to a letter offering support and commending the City of Chula Vista’s efforts to promote inclusion, equality, and love through their programming. 

“Our commitment to our communities is to create inclusive environments that honor the wholeness of all people,” said Reverend Tania Marquez of Unitarian Universalists of the South Bay. “I commend the work of the City of Chula Vista library for their commitment to create inclusive and LGBTQ+ affirming programming. All genders and all gender expressions are whole and holy.” 

A planned “love demonstration” will also take place at the site as well as a way for supporters to come together and peacefully demonstrate love and acceptance.  

Drag Queen Storytime is happening on Tuesday, September 10 at the Chula Vista Public Library Civic Center Branch.

List of Interfaith Community Leaders and Faith Group supporters:

Taylor Binney, First United Methodist Church of Chula Vista

Leslie Bunker, First United Methodist Church of Chula Vista

Alan Hay, First United Methodist Church of Chula Vista

Reverend Tania Marquez, First Unitarian Universalist Church of San Diego, South Bay

Rev. Dr. Brian Parcel, First United Methodist Church of Chula Vista

Reverend Brandan Robertson, Missiongathering Christian Church (DevOUT Co-Chair)

Minister Anna Runion, Pilgrim United Church of Christ (DevOUT Co-Chair)

Commissioner Susan Jester, St Paul’s Episcopal Cathedral

Reverend Bailey Brawner, Mission Hills United Methodist Church

Reverend Mary Brookshire, Pioneer Ocean View United Church of Christ

Rabbi Laurie Coskey Ed.D, Chavurah Kol Haneshamah

Reverend Amanda Dohring, Vista La Mesa Christian Church

Reverend Nancy Fowler, Missiongathering Christian Church

Vicar Courtney Geibert, Christ Lutheran Church

Reverend Julie Germain, Vista La Mesa Christian Church

Pastor Wendy Holland, Missiongathering Christian Church

Reverend William Hurd

Reverend Katherine Katsanis-Semel, Metropolitan Community Church

Reverend Michael Kinnamon, Vista La Mesa Christian Church

The Rev. Dr. Richard Lee, St. Mark’s Episcopal Church

Reverend Caleb Lines, University Christian Church

Rabbi Devorah Marcus, Temple Emanu-El of San Diego

Reverend Gary Matson Sr, Missiongathering Christian Church

Reverend Cheri Metier, Interfaith Worker Justice of San Diego County

Reverend Kathleen Moehlig, Unity

Father Michael Nicosia, Ecumenical Catholic Communion

Reverend Kathleen Owens, First Unitarian Universalist Church of San Diego

Reverend Bob Rhodes, Pacific Beach United Methodist Church

Pastor Sandy Roberts, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Reverend Doctor Steven Shepard, University Christian Church

Reverend Sharon Wylie, Chalice Unitarian Universalist Congregation

Rachel Adams, The Rock Church

Abby Algarin, Missiongathering Christian Church

Ms Susan Bourrillion, University Christian Church

Crystal Canez, Kensington Community Church

Martha Casillas

Sandy Chase, Lutheran

Andrea Beth Damsky, Chavurah Shir Ha-Yam

Emmanuel De Guzman, Missiongathering Christian Church

Jeri Edwards, Missiongathering Christian Church

Jenniet Galvan

Michelle Gorman, St. Michael’s Catholic Church, Poway

Mrs. Nakeedra Haskell, Pilgrim United Church of Christ

Blake Jones, Cathedral of Saint John the Divine

Mario Juarez

Nadia Kean-Ayub  Catholic, Chula Vista, CA

Dr. Carole Kennedy, University Christian Church

Alex Kip, Oceanside Sanctuary

Dr. Robin Knauerhase, Disciples LGBTQ+ Alliance

Don Lewis, Missiongathering Christian Church

Phyllis Lovato, Missiongathering Christian Church

Miriam Marquez, Missiongathering Christian Church

Amanda Martin, Bethlehem Lutheran Church

Andy Mathews, Pioneer Ocean View United Church of Christ

Jorge Mendoza, St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church

Jeff Michaelson, University Christian Church

Michael Middleton, Missiongathering Christian Church

Michelle Million, Sojourn Grace Collective

Camille Pederson, Pioneer Ocean View United Church of Christ

Vanessa Quartuccio, Missiongathering Christian Church

Mr. Jovy Quevedo, Missiongathering Christian Church

Mykel Resino, St Paul’s Episcopal Cathedral

Marshela Salgado, University Christian Church

Art Serrano, Missiongathering Christian Church

Cheryl Starbuck, Missiongathering Christian Church

Dr. Jason Steidl, St. Paul the Apostle Church

Sam Trego, Missiongathering Christian Church

Diana Trepesowsky, Missiongathering Christian Church

Mr. Terry Vaughn, Missiongathering Christian Church

Haley Wilson

Larry Wiltjer, Missiongathering Christian Church

Sarah Zuniga, Disciples Divinity House, The University of Chicago

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *