(888) 277-4253

Nicky Awards will be bestowed Sunday night at The Center

SAN DIEGO – Red carpet arrivals for the Nicky Awards will begin at 5 p.m. today at The Center in Hillcrest.

The 35th annual ceremony will begin at 6 o’clock.

Entertainers will include The Platt Brothers, who were finalists on NBC’s “America’s Got Talent,” and super diva Morgan McMichaels of “RuPaul’s Drag Race” as seen on VH1 and LOGO.

Winners will be announced in 45 categories, as well as recipients of their highest honors.

San Diego Mayor Jerry Sanders will present the City of West Hollywood with the “Mayor George Moscone Award” on the 25th anniversary of its incorporation as one of the gayest cities in America. Mayor Sanders, a past recipient of this award, will present West Hollywood Mayor John Heilman with the award.

Heavy metal music icon Rob Halford of Judas Priest will be honored with a “Lifetime Achievement Award in the Arts.”

The annual Nicky Awards is one of the oldest and most prestigious GLBT community awards programs in the country. First held in 1975, the Nicky Awards honors outstanding achievement in arts, social service, entertainment, nightlife, business, dining, activism, philanthropy, volunteerism and individual accomplishment from San Diego’s thriving GLBT community supporters and allies.

Over the past 35 years, the awards ceremony has raised more than $1 million for numerous GLBT and HIV services and organizations.
Then-California Gov. Gray Davis said, “by showcasing excellence in the community, the Nicky Awards serve as proof that every person has something important to contribute, that each of us can make a difference. This celebration is a tribute to the men and women of San Diego’s GLBT community who work hard to improve the quality of life for all.”

Tickets priced at $60 for general admission and $85 for VIP seating are still available. Visit www.nickyawards.com or call Mike at (619) 254-6372.

Online purchases will be available at will call starting at 4 p.m., and an ID is required to pick up tickets.

Proceeds go to the San Diego GLBT Community Center, The Imperial Court and the Milk/Ramirez Student Scholarships (founded in 1979).