(888) 277-4253

Speaker Emeritus Toni G. Atkins names 78th district women of the year

Speaker Emeritus Toni G. Atkins recently announced the list of women from each neighborhood within her 78th assembly district who are being tapped as this year’s “women of the year.”

The top woman, honored at a statewide ceremony in Sacramento’s assembly chambers March 13, was Linda LeGerrette, of South Park. LeGerrette, who worked with Cesar Chavez at one time, founded the Cesar Chavez Service Clubs, which introduces young leaders throughout the San Diego Unified School District to the legacy of the late labor leader.

A total of 26 other honorees from around the 78th assembly district will be recognized by Atkins at a luncheon in San Diego during the month of April, nine of which are from Uptown neighborhoods.

One of this year’s two honorees from Hillcrest is Cheli Mohamed, longtime LGBT activist who worked at San Diego Pride for two decades, before leaving for a corporate position. Mohamed has remained a very active volunteer for the annual event, and was named “Champion of Pride,” as part of the nonprofit’s annual Spirit of Stonewall awards in 2014.

In addition to LeGerrette and Mohamed, others from Uptown neighborhoods scheduled to be honored include: Rosalind Winstead (Hillcrest); Shana Hazen (Kensington); Carin Canale-Theakston (Mission Hills); Suzanne Ledeboer (Normal Heights); Andrea Guererro (North Park); Alicia De León-Torres (South Park); Kelley Waggonner (Talmadge); and Nan McGraw (University Heights).

The date and location of the luncheon for honorees and their families is still to be determined and will be released after press time.

(Editor's note: This post was originally published on SDGLN media partner Gay San Diego.)